John McCain Does Not Know the Price of Gas

29 06 2008

Senator John McCain continues to tout his gas tax holiday plan despite the fact that no economist sees any merit in his or Senator Hillary Clinton’s proposal. Under McCain’s plan, the federal gas tax charging 18.4 cents per gallon at most gas pumps and 24.4 cents for diesel fuel would be eliminated for an entire summer.

The Arizona Senator announced his plan in April of this year in an effort to convince the public that he is a man of the people. “This measure, combined with the summer-long ‘gas-tax holiday,’ will bring a timely reduction in the price of gasoline. And because the cost of gas affects the price of food, packaging, and just about everything else, these immediate steps will help to spread relief across the American economy,” said the Republican Presidential presumptive nominee in April.

Experts say, however, that the plan would do more harm than good. For starters, if the plan went into effect it would seriously deplete the highway trust fund, which finances the building and repairing of the nations roads since, “every $1 billion of federal highway investment supports 34,779 jobs.”

Plus, abolishing the gas tax, even for just a few months, may stimulate greater gas consumption. That would inevitably drive up the demand for an already scarce commodity causing prices to sharply rise by the end of the year and beyond. This remains a very real possibility considering how the U.S. already accounts for a quarter of the world’s oil demand.

Not long ago, Good Morning America asked five economists what they thought of the McCain and Clinton plan on gas taxes and this is what they found:

Obama, and other people who are simply concerned about future of our planet, should also be mindful of how McCain’s stubborn support for the so-called gas tax holiday at best stands in tension with his seemingly pro-environment proposals. Surely, encouraging the consumption of more oil will not serve our goal of reducing carbon emissions over the long term very well.

True to form, Senator McCain maintained his steadfast support for the gas tax holiday plan while in California recently. But oddly enough the same man who claims to be attuned to how people are hurting at the pump did not know what the price of gas was.

In an interview with Martin Wiskol of Orange County Register, McCain said the following while en route to a fundraiser in Orange County:

WISCKOL: I’d like to ask you a couple questions suggested by voters here. They’re not reporter-type questions.

McCAIN: Sure. It’d be a pleasure.

WISCKOL: When was the last time you pumped your own gas and how much did it cost?

McCAIN: Oh, I don’t remember. Now there’s Secret Service protection. But I’ve done it for many, many years. I don’t recall and frankly, I don’t see how it matters. I’ve had hundreds and hundreds of town hall meetings, many as short a time ago as yesterday. I communicate with the people and they communicate with me very effectively.

Come again? We are not talking about the price of Raisin Bran here.

We are talking about the price of gas, which as of this writing is more than $4 nationally and $4.57 per gallon just in California alone. Additionally, not only do 62 percent of people in a recent CNN survey believe that high gas prices are due to unsavory business practices by oil companies, but another Washington Post and ABC News poll also found that gas prices was just behind health care in terms of what issues mattered most for voters.

But perhaps none of that matters much since he can communicate with voters.

Interestingly enough, when John McCain was asked by the OC Register how he differed from Bush, one of the issues the Arizona Senator cited was a willingness to “Addressing climate change effectively.”

In fact, he repeated it twice in response to the same question.

At least that was one question he was prepared to answer.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 06 2008
Tim Leahy

Here’s an immediate answer to America’s Fuel Crisis: MPG50.com

Please find current testimonials below. We have dozens more and adding more daily.

To: “Tim Leahy, Energy Savings Consultant, http://MPG50.com -Phone: 630-258-4318″

Subject: gas treatment

I am Franklin Peacock and I live in south Georgia, better known as Waycross and I pastor a church.

Many of my church families use hospitals that are over a 100 miles or more away from our town.

While in Jacksonville, Fla. I was listening to talk radio.I heard this spin on a gas treatment called MPG50.
Fuel costs are so high today and I can use as much as three tankfuls of gasoline a week.
To be honest I have heard these claims before and they turned out to be false.

I waited about a week before I looked up the website, http://MPG50.com and I placed an order for six bottles.

I put MPG50 in my dodge truck with a 5.9 V8 engine made a 250 mile trip to visit a sick church member in the hospital.
I averaged about 65 miles per hour and 18 miles per gallon on gas.
Yes it worked well immediately at that speed, whereas before I had been averaging only 15 miles per gallon.
This is the best mileage my truck has ever done since it was manufactured.

I have just received my second MPG50 order this morning.
I have sold my friends a case and now many others are asking for this product.
It works exceptionally well and will save me money every time I stop at the gas pump.
I own 3 vehicles. The treatment is in the tanks and by the end of the month I will see the savings in my gas bill.

The oil treatment was put in my truck yesterday and I will report its additional success real soon .
I can’t help but believe that other gas users need this savings and reduction in wear and tear on their engines.

Rev. Franklin Peacock
Waycross,Ga.31503

Subject: MPG50

Dear Daily Savings Club,

Thank you so very much for recommending your MPG50 money-saving gasoline & diesel additive to us. I have now finished my third tank of gas using MPG50 and am enjoying a substantial increase in miles per gallon.

In mostly city driving my 2004 Ford Explorer was only getting 11.2 MPG before, but now with MPG50 in my tank I get 15.5 MPG. This is an increase in mileage of better than 38% which saves me $1.52 per gallon at the gas pump. With gas at $4 a gallon in Georgetown, KY, one $25 bottle of MPG50 saves me $243.20 in gasoline costs.

I am excited to be the distributor in the Georgetown/Lexington, Kentucky area for MPG50 and look forward to helping my customers overcome high gasoline costs. I know the word will spread fast, as we all hate to pay so much money to fill up our gas tanks.

With your 30-day money-back guarantee on MPG50, I expect soon that I will have customers lined up at my store to buy it

Sincerely,
Linda Craig
Bluegrass Boots & Saddles
Georgetown, KY 40324
Phone: 502-868-0026

If any questions, please contact me.

Tim Leahy
Phone: 630-258-4318

29 06 2008
Tim Leahy

Check it out. It works!

16 10 2008
Anonymous

mccain is wack

Leave a Reply

