On Michelle Obama’s Speech

27 08 2008

In sum, though at times Juan Williams irritates me to no end, I am in total agreement with his assessment of Michelle Obama’s speech here:

Like many other people, I found her personal story about her father’s perseverance despite suffering from a debilitating illness very well told in addition to realizing the historical significance of her moment when she said:

It is because of their will and determination that this week, we celebrate two anniversaries: the 88th anniversary of women winning the right to vote, and the 45th anniversary of that hot summer day when Dr. King lifted our sights and our hearts with his dream for our nation.

I stand here today at the crosscurrents of that history — knowing that my piece of the American Dream is a blessing hard won by those who came before me. All of them driven by the same conviction that drove my dad to get up an hour early each day to painstakingly dress himself for work. The same conviction that drives the men and women I’ve met all across this country.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

